So Week One of my 'new leaf' for healthier living and the 21-day Cleanse has passed and while I wasn't perfect, I've decided 'perfect' is not what I'm aiming for. I just want to do better. Do better than the lazy, careless choices I've been making with how to take care of myself. Do better, like someone who CARES about themselves and what they put into their bodies.

And I've had SO much fun this week.

I'm pretty proud of myself. Check it out, yo. In the last week, I:


- bought a bunch of things I'd never bought before, and have been brave and experimental!
- made kale chips
- fell in love with coconut oil
- fried some eggplant in aforementioned coconut oil, lightly dusted with flaxseed meal...
- danced
- hooped
- walked
- stayed away from most sugars (although I'm holding onto my coffee and flavored creamer in the morning, for now, I've reduced most all other sugars)
- no white flour or wheat
- no corn or corn products
- no dairy
- no diet soda (I admit, I miss it, a lot.) or artificial sweetners
- drank a few hundred ounces of water (I used to say I didn't like water. Now I know what it feels like to be hydrated.)
- made a delectable vegetable soup that I ate all week
- slept like a baby most nights
- bought organic for the first time
- dropped nearly 7 lbs (now I know why it's called a "cleanse"... lots of bathroom visits, all day long!)
- had an awesome Drawing Out Process session with Emily Eldridge that was VERY informative, enlightening and healing. (I'll share more about that later.)
- started a 2 week liver cleanse, now half-way through...

NOT BAD for Week One, I'll say.  Friday night was definitely a "cheat night"... seems far easier to follow the guidelines when I stay in my house. Met some friends out, with the intention of not drinking alcohol. That didn't work. I also smoked cigarettes, starting with a 'mooched' one, then onto my own fresh pack... but getting caught up in shaming myself isn't gonna serve me. It happened. I'm done. Moving on.

 I DID jump right back on track with the Cleanse rules the next day, and I was really surprised at how quick my bounce-back time was.

Overall, I'm feeling is soooo much better than I was before I started. One of the main differences I notice away from the 'bad carbs' and sugars is that my energy levels stay consistent all day long, for the most part, as well as my moods. 


ANOTHER cool thing is that I haven't really been craving sugars or starches the way I used to. I stay 'satisfied' after eating for much longer and while I'm snacking healthy throughout the day, I don't get that ravenous feeling that makes me grab at anything and make poor choices. My cravings for junk seem to be gone, or at least not obsessive! My 'old life' was a roller-coaster existence with highs and lows all day (sugar highs and crashes, no doubt.). I like this steady energy and consistent happy mood thing! Then when it's time for bed, I'm tired and I crash... the way I was designed to.

I'm excitedly moving into Week Two knowing firsthand how much food affects my moods, feeling the difference in my energy level, my vitality. Crazy no-brainer, but some of us are a little slower than others: Eating GOOD food means I feel GOOD! Seems simple, doesn't it? No, I have not lost my affection for french fries. And I do have some lusty plans for reuniting with a good chunk of cheese later this month... but for now, I'm staying away.


Cause feeling good feels really, really good.

So how about you?
- What successes would you like to brag on?
- Try anything new?
- What bloopers or slips can you let yourself off the hook for, and get back on track with me?


You can share them in the comments below, or post them on the Facebook page. I wanna know. Cause we're in this together. ;)

Here's to a sacred, sexy, HEALTHY week two of 2012, for you and for me!




Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All