Picture
_I have lots and lots of talents and skills. Dieting is not one of them. Following rules, menus and regimens is one that I often fool myself into thinking I want, but really... I don't!

I had a great consultation with Betty Murray two weeks ago, and exactly a week ago today I got my Ultrameal mix, did my shopping and got ready for my quick start rapid loss diet... well, I didn't start too quick and I haven't lost anything.  I'm not following the 80/20 rule at all... (80% adherence/diligence, 20% indulgence/permission to 'cheat'.) It's more like 50/50.

Here's what I'm doing right... Let's focus on that for now. :)

I'm really enjoying the UltraMeal smoothies, available at Living Well Dallas. I bought Chocolate and Vanilla, cuz I like options, and I blend with fruit, coconut milk and other yummy ingredients. Really enjoying these daily treats.

Picture
Salmon Scramble recipe for the asking!
_I DID just make one of the Living Well Dallas recipes, which was a delicious Salmon Scramble... Olive oil, eggs, onion, spinach, tomato and a can of wild salmon. I've never had eggs with salmon before. What a delicious Tuesday Brunch. I tripled the recipe so I'll have more for later in the week.

I have worked out with my Fluidity system four times in 10 days which is pretty excellent, for me! Not to mention a few walks in there as well.

I have a nasty little bug now, though, so I'm stuffy and achy and sick and lazy, and just want to lay on the couch. Even canceled a MUCH needed massage at Living Well because the even the idea of laying face-down on the table hurts my face. Resisting the urge to turn to comfort foods. I did enjoy some gumbo last night that by sweet boyfriend Matt brought to me, by request.

The weekend was a complete cheat-fest though... this continues to be my sore spot, the weekends and my social life. Let's not even talk about the lasagna.

I'm getting tired of sorting everything I do, eat or drink as "good" or "bad"... and I like the school of thought that says things are only as good or bad as we decide they are... but I also know myself as a master rationalizer/Queen of Justification.  And that sounds a lot like a handy-dandy justification to eat whatever the hell I want to.

Does eating a cheeseburger reflect my so-called-desire to be healthy? No. Then why was I so HELLBENT on Saturday to have one? (I even texted my boyfriend: You hungry? I want to be bad. Cheeseburger-bad.)  One of my favorite authors and teachers, Debbie Ford would argue that I have a bigger, deeper and stronger UNDERLYING COMMITMENT that trumps my so-called-desire to be healthy. And what might that be? Dare I explore it? Hey wait! Haven't I done this before? Sheesh.

I give myself permission to splurge as 'rewards' for eating well during the week. Does that make sense? I am still categorizing the "bad" food as the prize... the good food then, is the punishment? Shouldn't the prize be a longer, healthier life, feeling good, yada yada?

Why do I enjoy 'cheating' just as much, if not more than, eating 'right'?

What do I really want? To be healthy? Or to simply lose weight? And what's the difference, for me?

Such an intricately tangled web of stories, justifications, shadows, lies and excuses I am in the process of untangling.

I continue to extend patience and compassion toward myself, trusting the process and taking it all one step at a time. I encourage and invite you to do the same. Stay open to your questions, and gentle and honest with your answers.

How are YOU doing?


I'm back to the couch to fight this bug.
Til next time..

Be well.





Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All