Picture
I retreated. I indulged. Press reset!
On January 15th,  I decided to start the 21 day Cleanse over again. I was technically more than halfway through, but then I retreated that weekend with 12 other women for a Goddess Getaway. Let's just say eating within the Cleanse guidelines suddenly seemed to be less important than having fun, and having fun for me, that particular weekend, had a lot to do with eating and drinking! 

It was interesting to notice the super quick effects on my system, when I reintroduced dairy, wheat, gluten, sugar, alcohol and corn into my body. (All within hours!) It was as if my body said "WHAAAAA? REALLY, Lisa??" So while I certainly enjoyed the short term gratification of indulging, (as in "mmmmm....) there were consequences that I had to accept as well. My digestive system was all jacked up... let's just say things weren't moving as smoothly as they had been. I felt sluggish and hazy the next day, and found myself desiring a quick and speedy "RESET!"

I decided instead of calling it a "Cheat Day" (It was more like a full-blown affair) I would start my Cleanse from Day 1. 


The truth of the matter is, this time around, I'm finding it MORE difficult to adhere to all of the rules of the Cleanse. Granted, I am eating VERY differently than I used to, I've eliminated soy, corn, flour, wheat and most sugars... but there are other parts I've been slacking on. Missing the mark. Short of perfection.

Really though, I'm doing the best I can, right now.  I think that's what matters. Striving for perfection is exhausting. Striving to be better than I was is liberating and empowering.

So of course there are many things I want to do better, I want to be better at. But in this moment, I want to focus on what I did well this week. One of the things I want to celebrate is that yesterday, I allowed myself to be lazy and lounge around much of the day, WITHOUT being sick or having a hangover.


If you know me, you know that for me to slow down and have unscheduled time to laze around is really unheard of, so much so, that my body HAS to get sick before I will lay around and rest. For this reason, I believe, my wily and clever body comes down with strep throat a few times a year, just to get me to cancel my plans, lay around and rest.  And every time this happens, I say, "I hear you body. I will rest. And maybe next time, I will just rest, without having to get sick to do so."

This week, I actually did it. And it felt really good.

NOW I am ready to move. I admit that one component missing from my wellness challenge this first month has been adequate movement. I've moved a little more, but my body longs for MORE.

My Success Plan this week:


- MORE MOVEMENT. Three to five 30 minute walks. Scheduling "walk n talks" with friends so I can also get my socializing and connection time in, too! Yoga on Monday too.

- A day off on Friday (no working allowed. SO hard when I love my work so much, but I'm excited about the day. An art museum trip with a friend, a massage... yum!

- Getting together with my wellness team at Living Well Dallas to plan a comprehensive strategy for my goals.

- Doing my best to adhere to my Cleanse guidelines.

- I'm going to experiment more with quinoa, my new favorite grain!

- Drink more water. I've been skimping, more like the 'old days' of dehydration as a lifestyle... NEED MORE AGUA!

What's your Success Plan for the week? Do tell!

:)


Lisa Tonick
1/22/2012 12:42:58 pm

Monday I am starting a 28 Day Challenge at Whole Foods based on the book Engine 2 Diet. It is a plant strong diet. I am excited and anxious to see how it works for me.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All