Picture
_If I knew that by mid-March I would still be struggling with 'rules' and would not have even come close to making the progress I wanted to make, I wouldn't have started this SacredSexyHealthy thing. See, what I thought, by going public with my journey is that somehow, the journey would be easier. With a bunch of people watching, how could I fail?  I imagined the extra weight dropping off, and a new, energized, more 'perfect' me would emerge and inspire 'the world' to make healthy changes in their lives, yada yada yada.

I did a Cleanse in January. I enlisted support of Living Well Dallas, I bought a Fluidity barre system, I made some big changes for a couple weeks at a  time... but I am still struggling, and it doesn't matter if anyone's watching. In fact, just as succeeding in front of people is awesome, struggling in front of people is just embarrassing. Discouraging. Disheartening.

I'm not giving up. I'm readjusting.

Yesterday, I wrote to Jenny Bair, the Passioneer of Purpose and co-founder of Living Well Dallas, as she checked in on my progress...

Discouraged and a little sick of myself. I'm having a hard time sticking to any change. Looking forward to getting started with Jean (Vance, Debbie Ford coach) this week and getting to the bottom of my self-sabotage silliness with this health stuff... Struggling a bit. :(

And she wrote me back something that jostled me just enough to create a small shift, which as we all know, is sometimes all we really need:

Accept yourself as you are. Accept Accept Accept.

Easier said than done! But I know what self-acceptance feels like. I've been there before. What if this SacredSexyHealthy thing, with all of its great intentions, has moved me away from self-acceptance, in my striving and efforts to be healthier? And is it possible to be/do both, simultaneously??


I've been doing that thing... that thing I used to work hard not to do - that "when I ___ , then I will be happier... then my life will be perfect..." thing. In the meantime, beating myself up and shooting myself down when I miss the mark! That, my friend, is the opposite of self-acceptance!

I have a hard time toggling the line of self-improvement while practicing self-acceptance. They seem contradictory, in a way.

But then again, self-acceptance is not resignation...

I do know this:


- Regimented rules and routines don't work for me. Choosing choice by choice makes more sense:   What does my body want right now? What does my body need? Not what does this piece of paper say I should eat right now?
- I have a terrible (secret) habit of equating my WEIGHT LOSS with success. It's how I measure progress. Sure it's one measurement tool, but just one. To think I am not succeeding, when in reality, I've made MANY great changes since January seems a bit twisted. How is that I allow that stupid number on the stupid scale to determine my success, still, after all these years of inner work?
- Beating myself up isn't working for me. It hurts and makes me tired. I lose momentum... it's like cutting rips in my hot air balloon. I am simply trying not to sink, instead of traveling effortlessly on the winds of love and kindness.
- My weekend "anything goes" policy toward careless drinking and eating affect way more than a number on the scale. My state of being, my mind and well-being are at stake.
- I am worth making good choices.

- Focusing on the feelings I want to experience is much more loving and kind approach, that I think I will respond better to.
- I would rather be healthier and wildly in love with myself than 'perfect".

And of course, I'm not being unrealistic about the perfect thing... I know there is no such thing.


But I also know that I've been thinking of my wellness path and eating right, primarily, as a pass or fail thing.

On a "good day", when I "pass",  I'm somehow more worthy of my own love and affection.
I think nice things about myself.

On a bad day, when I "fail", I'm shit. The only promise or hope or consolation is that tomorrow will be 'better'... I will behave. I will do better. I will be a good girl. I have no nice words or names or thoughts toward myself. In fact, quite the opposite. I am downright mean.

Do you see the madness here?

So I'm revamping and trying something different on my wellness path.


First of all, I will think of letter grades when it comes to how I do each day, and I won't just think of what I eat, or how I fail... but I will take into account the nice things I do for myself, the way I care for my body, if I spend time moving, etc... and assign a letter grade for the day... today, so far, I have a B+.  I'm going out to eat later with a friend which might lower me to a C... but a C is still okay. It's not 'pass or fail' anymore.

I'm going to make choices focused more on self-love than striving for this version of me I may never be. I will care for myself as if I am in love with myself. Not trying to whip myself into this thinner version. And why does it matter to me so damned much? This stupid 20 pounds has robbed me of so much joy.

I recommit to a healthier life. Imperfect, but healthier.
I recommit to self-kindness.
I recommit to recommitting.

And I trust the process, as 'imperfect' as it's been... and what if that, in itself, is PERFECT!?


Join the conversation: SacredSexyHealthy Facebook Group

Artwork by Eva Carter


Gail
3/14/2012 08:52:45 am

so let's take this a step at a time....
Becoming healthier is not an event, it is a lifestyle choice. There will always be days for fun, fabulous you to live with reckless abandon..I do that too. Publicly or alone doesn't matter. If you try to become the super heallthy, fully fit, all organic , skinny Lisa...you are not being you. It is such a fine line between healthy, good right, and your true soul living life to the fullest in every way. Where are you happiest? Yes as we get older...as we are given the gift of getting older...we know not everyone gets that gift...we have to be more vigilant but we also have to strive for the happiness even more. We beat the odds everyday by being alive...we need to do what it takes , within reason, to maintain our physical body, to help it remain strong and vital..but we also owe our heart and soul the decadence of life..living....excitement. such a fine line, and your line matches no other. let's honor ourselves to become healthier daily but let's also live a full life..the life that makes us smile. A fine line...a fine woman..a superior life and soul and heart. That is who you are. You inspire us with your honesty, and your frustrations. We feel your pain, your joy. this is our current ice..do not hold back..if you seek purity, health and growth then you will flow to that place, but every so often allow the joy of naughty and pleasure. That is life at it's fullest

Reply
3/15/2012 01:48:50 am

thank you gail! your words mean a lot, and my favorite thing about this 'public' journey is knowing i am not alone. XOXOXOXOX

Reply
3/15/2012 01:58:32 am

i love you. that's all. just. love. you. bunches.

Reply
Aura
3/20/2012 01:07:43 pm

Soooo glad I am not the only one experiencing almost this exact patterns ... can be soo damn exhausting at times, but man do you give me hope... I hope that you knowing you are not alone is hopeful for you too!!! and yes all of this about trusting the process!! the path, the learning, alllll the things in between all of these perceived points... not the end destination, not the perfect outcome (that will probably never arrive in the way you imagine)... just opening to surprises and appreciating everything we learn through the constant movement and navigation of the self through all of its spiraling facets...just keep deepening and learning and witnessing and growing and unfolding and shedding and trusting and blessing others with your knowledge and loving and nurturing and practicing and accepting yourself in every moment no matter how ____ or ____ it just...is.... oh i love it all in both the wretchedness and the blissfulness when i look at it in this way, yay... anyway... I am here with you so let's do this sister!! don't even know you but i love you! =) and monica loves you. and i love monica... so.. we should meet someday soon? =D <3

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All