Picture
_Years ago, I thought it'd be funny to write and publish a flip-book of excuses. It'd be spiral-bound, sorted by category, you'd keep it by the phone, use it whenever you need a good one. Because I've got a lot of them, enough for a flip book. 

Some of my best ones, though, I've used on myself.

I've had a lot of great excuses over the years, about why I haven't stayed committed to my desires for healthy living, movement and dedicated self-care.  And so have you. I asked the SacredSexyHealthy group for some of their favorite excuses. Here are some of them. Any of them sound familiar? (ME: yes.)
  • too busy.
  • too tired.
  • not enough time.
  • not enough money.
  • past wounds, depression, victim-thinking.
  • too lazy.
  • it's too difficult...
Think of all your favorite excuses, throw them in a paper sack in your mind, roll over the top so they don't jump out, and put a big sticker on the bag, labeling them for what they really are: resistance.

Every possible, creative and not-so-creative excuse you've ever used is really about you resisting what on ONE level you SAY you want, on another, deeper, even unconscious level, you are resisting.

Why? Why would we resist what we want? What we KNOW is good for us?

I'm going to ask you to do something really brave with me, right now.  You might even want to go sit with your journal for this one.

Soooo... when you think of your life so far, and consider your resistance to getting healthier, making choices and changes that will make your life better, help you live longer, make you feel great... ask yourself this: Why am I resisting? What am I  really afraid of?

Ask it again. What am I REALLY afraid of?

Once more. What am I really AFRAID of?

I realized recently that at the root of my resistance was fear.


I bet it's at the root of your resistance, too.

Here are some of my fears...

- I'm afraid of being boring.
- I'm afraid of missing out on fun.

- I'm afraid of feeling controlled.
- I'm afraid of becoming "one of those" annoying health zealots that knows everything about everything and makes people feel uncomfortable at parties (like- "do you KNOW what the cows that made the milk that made that brie WERE FED?" "Do you know that taco chip has 39 artificial flavors in it?")
- I'm afraid if I get too awesome I will be unlikable and unloved.
- I'm afraid of life being "TOO PERFECT". If I am completely healthy, fit, happy... if all my chronic pain is gone... if my allergy suffering goes away... THEN WHAT?? What will I complain about? What will be expected of me?


Granted, these are not all "surface fears" that permeate my conscious thoughts... some of them took some digging, they were hidden pretty well, cleverly disguised as judgments, opinions and resistances of all sorts...

But they are in there, sneaky little bastards. And until now, I've let them hang out and keep me 'safe.' You might have some too.


Your answers may look like mine or may include things like...

- I'm afraid of losing friends.
- I'm afraid my family will reject me.
- I'm afraid that THEN I'll have to make some even tougher changes.
- Will the dynamic in my marriage change, once I am loving myself, really loving myself well? (If you're asking that, it probably will.)

What, UP TIL NOW, have you been afraid of, really afraid of, when it comes to being the healthiest, most vital and alive version of yourself?

I've just exposed myself. Please ease my awkward vulnerability by doing the same... won't you? ;)




donna
1/6/2012 10:33:19 am

post holiday reminder... chocoate truffles and champagne are not food groups..... drink more water!

Reply
1/11/2012 05:04:43 am

I'm afraid of not being able to do it right the first time, so I don't try. I'm afraid of being perceived as stupid or a failure. I'm afraid of being deemed unloveable. That's the core of all of it, really.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All