Picture
Brenda Briscoe, Bowen Therapist Extraordinaire!
_ I’ve tried many forms of healing modalities and bodywork over the years, and hands down, Bowen Therapy is one of my absolute favorites.

When I’ve talked about these experiences with people, it’s challenging for me to describe what it does, and why. It’s different, no doubt.

A couple of the biggest differences? The sessions are experienced fully clothed, and are performed in a series of sequences. The practitioner then leaves the room between sequences.  When I’ve had Bowen done, I’ve become so relaxed I’ve fallen asleep. I’ve also noticed such interesting and ‘active’ sensations moving through my body. The best way to describe the feeling is like conversations in my nerves that I can actually feel… like there are all kinds of electrical pulses and movements and sensations moving through me, up and down my nervous system, writing a new body story.

I don’t know how or why it works, but it does. I feel relief from chronic pain during and after a session, and the session itself is very pleasurable and relaxing. But I thought I’d let my Bowen therapist do a better job of explaining this different and effective modality! Meet my Bowen Therapy practitioner, a member of the Living Well Dallas team, Brenda Briscoe…

LC: Hi Brenda! How would you describe Bowen easily to someone who’d never heard of it?

BB: Bowen Therapy is easy to receive yet powerful, bringing quick, profound, and long-lasting results for pain and other physiological conditions.  It's the best-kept secret in town!


LC: So why Bowen?  

BB: I was introduced to Bowen Therapy in my search for an answer to help my step-daughter with her pain from scoliosis.  It was life-changing for her.  Ever since, I have seen it work near miracles in so many instances where people had tried "almost everything" (in the words of many).  Conditions like sciatica, carpal tunnel syndrome, migraine headaches, and a myriad of sport injuries have been resolved with Bowen in one or just a few sessions.  The beauty of it is that to get these great results, the client does not have to endure deep work and great pain.  The work is simple, noninvasive and quite pleasurable. 


LC: I know it’s different. But I have a hard time explaining it! What's different about it?  

BB: Bowen Therapy is done through the clothing and there are no oils or lotions used.  It is definitely a hands-on therapy where the muscles, nerves, and fascia are manipulated in a skin-rolling type of movement.  The autonomic nervous system is alerted and neuromuscular compensations begin to unravel, bringing every system of the body back into balance.


LC: How did you discover Bowen Therapy?  

BB: My step-daughter has scoliosis and wore a back brace for a few years starting at age 13.  It did not help straighten her spine, although perhaps it helped it not to worsen during those developmental years.  She began to have a lot of pain in her later teenage years.  Although chiropractic had helped her quite a bit, she came to a plateau with it and was looking for something else to help her pain.  An alternative health professional asked me if we had ever considered Bowen Therapy.  At the time, we had never heard of this and discovered there was only one practitioner in the entire metroplex.  She said a Bowen Therapy course would be taught in Dallas in two months and I should take it.  What a life-changing experience it was when I took her advice and participated in this course.

Picture
It feels really good...
_LC: How has Bowen Therapy has helped you personally?  

BB: In several ways.  It has given me a unique way to fulfill my passion for helping hurting people.  Each client and session is different, and this keeps me motivated and stimulated.  With every successful resolution of a problematic condition, I gain more confidence and excitement about this technique and how it can help many people.

It has helped me financially in that it has given me a career I would not have found had it not been for my step-daughter's need.  I also get to teach this technique in massage schools, giving me another career to help me financially.

Physically, Bowen Therapy has saved me time and again.  I seem to be accident prone and, had I not been able to do Bowen on myself or go to another local practitioner, I would have been out of work quite a few days or weeks with each of my injuries.  However, with Bowen Therapy the recovery time is extremely short.  For example, I sprained my ankle and could not put any weight on it.  I did Bowen Therapy on it at bedtime and was able to sleep without pain.  Upon waking in the morning, I did about a minute's worth of Bowen on it, waited ten minutes, then got up and walked as if nothing had ever happened -- still swollen and discolored, but no pain and no limping.



LC: During our sessions, you leave the room every couple minutes. This is really different from any other bodywork I’ve had! I’ve noticed when you leave and I’m alone on the table is when some of the most interesting sensations are taking place in my body. It’s pretty amazing! Why do you leave the room so often?  

BB: This is crucial to this work.  I do my part, the hands-on technique, and then it is up to the client's body to do the rest (the nervous system's response).  There needs to be a few minutes of time given for the spinal cord and the brain to process the new neural information.  A resetting of the autonomic nervous system needs to happen, like rebooting a computer.  This does not happen in an instant, but rather requires a little bit of time.  The client will be more relaxed and responsive if I am not standing in the room talking with them.


LC: Thanks so much for sharing this amazing modality with SacredSexyHealthy readers, Brenda! Do you have any special invitations for them?

BB: Yes! To those who are reading this and just hearing about Bowen Therapy for the first time, I will offer a one-time $20 discount if you mention SacredSexyHealthy!


LC: Take advantage of this offer, readers. I hope you love Bowen Therapy like I do.

You can learn more about Brenda Briscoe and contact her through Living Well Dallas.

_
4/16/2012 09:57:45 pm

Glad you like it, Lisa. I have seen amazing results with my clients. Thanks for spreading the word, as not many have heard of it. Wish more people could know.

Reply
Kyle R Threlkeld
4/17/2012 07:08:47 pm

Bowen therapy has been a significant and consistent part of my overall ongoing health and recovery from latent symptoms of a stroke I had in 1993.Brenda uses it to reset my nervous system, and to exacerbate my recovery from marathons and ultramarathons I run.

During a session I am amazed at how relaxed I become. Sometimes emotions well up and are resolved in a good and beneficial manner. I go home at peace and can usually sleep well. My body and my being are at peace. The therapy is non-invasive and simple, yet profound in its impact on my physical and mental well-being. I believe Bowen would bless anyone, particularly those with chronic issues.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me...

    _Evolving, risking, noticing, thinking, feeling, breathing, ascending, learning, loving, growing, BEING.

    A natural born supporter of growth and expression, I love to create happiness, cool experiences and inspire others to step into their most magnificent versions of themselves.

    I want to reconnect the disconnect, heal the rift between flesh and spirit, settle the score between right and wrong, diminish my inner critic and love myself best I can.

    I am shadow and light, I embrace it all, most of the time, and I want to live full-out.

    My life is full of meaningful relationships, everyday epiphanies and magical miracles.

    Divinity's delicious,
    dripping with flavor.
    The world is full of wonder,
    everything is mystical.
    The journey, a joyride.
    I'm taking notes along the way.

    Archives

    June 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011

    Categories

    All